Council on the Ageing (COTA) Queensland is overseen by an active Board whose members represent different areas within the non-profit and corporate sectors.

Peter Howells, Chair
Neale Condon, Deputy Chair
Maree McMahon, Non-Executive Director/Chair Finance & Risk Committee
Margaret Sugden, Non-Executive Director/Chair Policy Committee
Robyn Robinson, Non-Executive Director
Prof. Linda Rosenman, Non-Executive Director
Mark Tucker-Evans, Chief Executive/Company Secretary



Peter is an independent business consultant specialising in providing Human Resources advice and project support to clients ranging from the corporate to the public sector and across a range of industries including professional services, finance and resources. He has held senior HR corporate roles for over 20 years. He has lead HR teams in the Retail Banking and Funds Management sectors, developing solutions and resolving issues to support high performing workplaces. He has been actively involved in industry and professional bodies such as the Australian Human Resources Institute and the Financial Institutions Remuneration Group (FIRG). Peter was Chairman of the FIRG management committee from 2006 to 2009. Peter embarked on his career in HR after studying psychology and anthropology at the University of Queensland. He also obtained an MBA from Griffith University. Peter is a Graduate Member, Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Certified Professional Australian Human Resources Institute.

NEALE CONDON  Deputy Chair

Neale is an experienced Company Director, CEO and General Manager. He is a certified Transition Planning Consultant and also consults in corporate governance. Neale has worked mainly in the services sector and held specific responsibilities for Finance, Strategy and Corporate Governance. Neale has held senior leadership roles in non-profit companies in Health and Aged Care. In his role as Director of Finance and Corporate Services with Holy Spirit Hospital he was a key contributor to the successful planning, construction, commissioning and management of the Holy Spirit Northside Private Hospital in Brisbane. Neale is a former Director of Smart Services Cooperative Research Centre Pty Ltd. He is also on the Board of Insurance and Membership Services Limited. He holds Bachelor Degrees in Business and Law, and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

MAREE McMAHON, Non-Executive Director/Chair Finance & Risk Committee

Maree is an experienced senior finance leader with over 25 years leading finance teams in Queensland-based ASX listed companies.  The majority of that time had been spent with the Suncorp Group, where her most recent role was as an Executive Manager within the Suncorp Business Services CFO Division with responsibilities spanning not only a broad range of financial services but also business continuity planning, risk management, policy development and managing multiple service providers for the Finance Shared Services and Financial Control related functions.  Maree currently fulfils a full time Executive Leadership role as General Manager Corporate Services at Open Minds Australia Limited, a Not for Profit organisation that provides mental health, disability and employment services.  Throughout her career, Maree has also been an active member of CPA Australia, currently serving on the Queensland Divisional Council and Executive Committee as the Queensland Divisional President for 2016.  Maree brings skills in financial governance, financial reporting, business process improvement, integration and change management, strategic management accounting, strategic planning and implementation, risk management, customer shared service delivery, contract governance and systems design.

ROBYN ROBINSON, Non-Executive Director
.Sc. Dip.C.Sc., MSc., GAICD

Robyn worked in executive and senior management roles within the electricity industry in Queensland for over 20 years.  She has an extensive background in IT management, business performance improvement and managing organisational change. Currently Robyn works as an independent consultant advising energy industry bodies on energy consumer policy issues and stakeholder engagement. Robyn has qualifications in science and IT, and holds a Master of Science Degree in Operations Research. She is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. In addition to her role on the Board of COTA Queensland, Robyn is President of the Redland District Committee on the Ageing and Chair of the Redland Seniors Network. She is a former director of the Donald Simpson Community Centre.

PROFESSOR LINDA ROSENMAN, Non-Executive Director (BA Dip Soc Work MSW PhD GAICD)

Professor Linda Rosenman has worked in academic and senior management positions at Universities in Queensland, across Australia and in the USA. She has researched, published and presented widely on economic security, superannuation and women, financial abuse and intergenerational financial relationships and has a long history of serving on and chairing boards and ministerial committees in the education, human services and ageing sectors.

Linda has a BA, Dip. Social Work, MSW and PhD and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


MARGARET SUDGEN, Non-Executive Director
M.App.Fin., GAICD – on leave until the 2018 AGM.

Margaret is a retired Managing Director, Investment Services at QIC, which is one of Australia’s largest institutional fund managers with a blend of public and private sector clients. She has extensive experience in strategic and tactical planning and thinking, relationship and change management, advocacy and support, and direction of product management, performance measurement and marketing strategies. Margaret is also Chair of the Queensland Community Foundation Management Company and a Governor on the QCF Board of Governors. QCF is renowned as one of Queensland’s leading charitable organisations bringing together community, business, education and government leaders to further philanthropic causes across the State.

Margaret has a Masters of Applied Finance and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

MARK TUCKER-EVANS, Chief Executive/Company Secretary

COTA Queensland’s Chief Executive Mark Tucker-Evans who also has had the role of Company Secretary since 12 June 2014 has over 30 years’ experience as a Chief Executive of industry and professional associations.  Mark has extensive Board experience and is currently Chair, Health Consumers Queensland, Institute for Healthy Communities Australia Ltd and Institute for Healthy Communities Australia Certification Pty Ltd. He is a former Assistant Commissioner, Health Quality & Complaints Commission, Chair of QCOSS and director of ACOSS.


Comments are closed.